WIAW #2


It was a bright but bitterly cold morning in SE England today. In an attempt to balance the changing seasons, I decided on a winter menu to warm me up and a spring themed outfit to brighten me up.

I gave my usual x-biking class a miss because my hamstrings were super tight from yesterday’s work out. Usually a bit of soreness wouldn’t deter me, but with a 10k run to complete on Thursday  morning, I figured I’d give my legs a chance to fully recover (in fact, I might even get the dreaded foam roller out tonight!)

On to the food…

There is nothing quite like the power of porridge to warm you up on a chilly morning. Even better, add grated apple and cinnamon and it’s a little bit like eating apple pie for breakfast!

Porridge with grated apple and cinnamon.

Porridge with grated apple and cinnamon.

Our office is freeeeeezing so I reverted back to a winter classic – soup. I pushed the boat out by going to M&S to pick up lunch rather than just Tesco (fancy hey!) and got this delicious Spicy Lentil Soup and a crusty brown roll.

Spicy Lentil Soup with Wholemeal Roll

Spicy Lentil Soup with Wholemeal Roll

Later in the afternoon, I had a bowl of fruit salad. It hit the spot  but left me shivering brrrrrr.

Fruit Salad

Fruit Salad

Continuing on the winter warmers theme, I made honey mustard chicken, with mashed potatoes and peas for dinner.

Honey Mustard Chicken with Mash Potato and Peas.

Honey Mustard Chicken with Mashed Potatoes and Peas.

Now I am going to settle down with a cup of tea and work on my latest project – crocheting a blanket for a friends bump that will soon be a baby. I’ll save posting pictures of that until it is a little more impressive…

Leave a Reply

